July 15 – Endorsements & Resolutions

EndorsementsChaired by Yvonne Elkin, Endorsement Committee Chair We will attempt to endorse in the following races: San Diego City Attorney: Mara Elliott, Cory Briggs San Diego Mayor: Barbara Bry, Todd Gloria, Tasha Williamson Assembly District 76: Tasha Boerner-Horvath Congressional District 50: Ammar Campa-Najjar Chula Vista City Council District 4: Andrea Cardenas, Delfina Gonzales Green New … Continue reading July 15 – Endorsements & Resolutions

Sep 24 – Join in the Discussion this Weekend at Politifest

The club has a booth at Politifest 2016, the annual get together to discuss local politics with voices from across San Diego. Come along and support Democratic candidates Mara Elliott, Candidate for San Diego City Attorney Georgette Gomez, Candidate for San Diego City Council District 9 Scott Peters, Congressmember CA 52 Colonel Doug Applegate, Candidate for Congress CA 49 Politifest 2016 will take place at the Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union, at San Diego State University. Held in partnership with the SDSU School of Journalism and Media Studies, this all-day public affairs conference will feature two national keynote speakers, as well as workshops and sessions that focus on the November ballot. The ballot this November is full of major decisions for voters. At Politifest, rivals on all sides of the most contentious issues will face off and debate their merits. Big local names and elected officials will debate major topics like: Should we build a convadium? Should we raise the sales tax a half-cent to fund transportation and open space preservation? Should the city change its charter to prevent …

Feb 28 – Monthly Meeting – Endorsements for San Diego City Attorney and D3

After the success of our January 2016 endorsement meeting, our February meeting provides club members in good standing to vote for their preferred candidate for San Diego City Attorney as well as San Diego City Council District 3. San Diego City Attorney Gil Cabrera Rafael Castellanos Mara Elliott Bryan Pease San Diego City Council District 3 Anthony Bernal Chris Ward All of the candidates with the exception of Anthony Bernal plan to be present to answer questions from members. This is your chance to help determine who best represents your values. Come along, get involved. Please remember to bring your check book, cash or a credit/debit card to renew your membership for 2016 that promises to be an exciting year for Democrats. If you prefer you can also renew online. We’ve kept membership rates at the same low level of $20 individual and $30 per household. NOTE: We’ll start the meeting 30 minutes earlier than usual as we have to be out on time for a following event at the Assembly. 3:30PM – 5:30PM Point Loma Assembly, 3035 Talbot St, San …

January 2016 Meeting Information

Hey, Clairemont Democrats! President Obama’s final State of the Union address will be the same night as our meeting on Tuesday, January 12. The speech begins at 6PM our time, so we will gather at 5:30 to order food, drink … Continue reading

Notes from September Meeting – Fight for $15 – Rabbi Laurie Coskey of the Interfaith Center for Worker Justice

Club President Susan Peinado called the meeting to order at 4:03 PM. Susan welcomed and introduced guests, including Lucy, Maggie, and Beth. She also welcomed new club members Jess Durfee, Phil and Debbie Currier, Brian Pease, Rena Marrocco, Laura Fink, Deanneka and Ricardo Flores, and Craig Roberts. She then gave a ‘rant’ on the conditions of club’s meeting location – the Point Loma Assembly – and the need for monies for air conditioning and a new electrical system. Susan then introduced elected officials and candidates and welcomed each to give 2 minutes of remarks: Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins (who is seeking election to Senate District 39)  provided a legislative update noting that legislation to increase the state’s minimum wage would come up in January or February; Todd Gloria (who is seeking election to Assembly District 78), provided a brief legislative update on City affairs; Georgette Gómez (candidate for San Diego City Council District 9); Sarah Saez (candidate for San Diego City Council District 9); Joe LaCava (candidate for San Diego City Council District 1); and Mara Elliott (candidate for San Diego …