No Club Meeting This Week

Democrats for Equality,

There will not be a club meeting this week.

We will be back in full-swing next month on Thursday, June 21st at Joyce Beers Community Center, 7:00pm.

Last week, I had the pleasure of participating in a Hillcrest Town Council-sponsored LGBTQ Debate at the San Diego LGBT Community Center.

Thank you to all of our club members who attended! For those of you who did not get a chance to attend, check out the full debate video hosted here.

In Solidarity,

Will Rodriguez-Kennedy
San Diego Democrats for Equality

Our Friend, Fentress

Wendell Fentress Ott
September 21st, 1931 – May 3rd, 2018

Dear Democrats for Equality,

I often think of our club as an extended family. The history that so many members have together, the relationships built in times of struggle and times of triumph run deep. That is why days like today are particularly difficult. It is my sad duty to report that our friend, Wendell Fentress Ott, passed away yesterday evening.

Fentress has been a long time member of this club. He attended every meeting he could. He listened, he engaged, he was always a friendly face in the room. His stalwart and long support of our cause has endured for decades and he was a beloved member of our club, of our party and our community.

For some time many of our club members and friends and family of Fentress had kept up to date on his activities via a Facebook group lovingly called “Fentressnet” and we know in his final days that he was visited by many and surrounded by people who loved and cared for him.

We will keep you updated as plans for a memorial come together. Today, I hope you will join me in keeping his friends and family in your thoughts and remembering our friend, Fentress. May he rest in peace.


Will Rodriguez-Kennedy
San Diego Democrats for Equality

2018 Pride Kick-Off Reception

2018 Pride Kick-Off Fundraiser
Thursday, July 12, 2018 from 6:30pm – 8:00pm
1477 University Ave
San Diego, CA 92103

Equality doesn’t just happen. It is achieved by the persistent efforts of dedicated individuals and organizations. Since 1975, the San Diego Democrats for Equality has been in the forefront of local social justice political activism by promoting issues and candidates that best represent our values. Please support our efforts by buying a ticket to our 2018 Pride Fundraiser and renewing your club membership.

$10 Early Bird Ticket Price (Ends May 20th) – if you’ve already renewed your club membership, and just need a ticket!

$750 President’s Circle (Household) – Complementary event ticket for each household member + 1 guest + 2 Drink Tickets, Year Round Newsletter Recognition

$500 President’s Circle (Individual) – Two complimentary Tickets + 2 Drink Tickets, Year Round Newsletter Recognition

$400 Golden Stonewaller (Household) – Complimentary Tickets for each household member

$250 Golden Stonewaller (Individual) – Two Complimentary Tickets

$200 Silver Stonewaller (Household) – Two Complimentary Tickets

$125 Silver Stonewaller (Individual) – One Complimentary Ticket

$80 Stonewaller (Household) – ($70 Renewal + $10 Early Bird Ticket Price, Ends May 20th)

$50 Stonewaller (Individual) – ($40 Renewal + $10 Early Bird Ticket Price Ends May 20th)

$40 Activist (Limited Income Household) – ($30 Renewal + $10 Early Bird Ticket Price, Ends May 20th)

$30 Activist (Limited Household Individual) – ($30 Renewal + $10 Early Bird Ticket Price, Ends May 20th)

If you have any questions, please contact Club President Will Rodriguez-Kennedy at [email protected] or 619-709-0675.

To renew your club membership and/or purchase a ticket to our 2018 Pride Kick-Off Reception click the button below.

Fayaz Nawabi in The Washington Post

Democrats for Equality,

“Nawabi, a 31-year-old candidate for San Diego City Council, supports almost everything that Trump opposes: He is pro-affordable housing, pro-environment, pro-immigrant and pro-refugee. That makes him part of the blue wave of new liberal candidates spurred to run by Trump’s election and policies.

But Nawabi is also part of a notable subset: the blue Muslim wave.”

Our endorsed candidate Fayaz Nawabi was highlighted by The Washington Post this week for San Diego City Council in District 6.

According to the story, there are 90 American Muslims running for office across the country, most spurred to run for office in the wake of the Trump presidency.

Take some time to check out the article and the video highlights.

We are so proud of you Fayaz! This is your moment, and the San Diego Democrats for Equality is proud to stand behind your historic candidacy.

If you’d like to learn more about Fayaz, check out his campaign website — — and, sign-up, volunteer, and/or donate to his campaign.

Like The Post says… wouldn’t be nice to deliver some “sweet justice” this year?

In Solidarity,

Ryan Trabuco
Vice President for Resource Development
San Diego Democrats for Equality